Columbus First United Methodist Church
Monday, March 30, 2020
Come grow with us!



This page describes a bit of the organizational structure "method" in our United Methodism:

  • For clergy leadership, Reverend Cindi reports to the Prairie Rivers District Superintendent Lance Clay in Grand Island. Rev. Clay reports to Bishop Ruben Saenz Jr. in Kansas and the Conference Cabinet. Nebraska is broken into six districts with Nebraska and the state of Kansas making up the Great Plains Conference.
  • For laity leadership, all committee and group chairs report to the Church Council, which typically meets on fourth Mondays in odd months and is chaired by Justin King. The Council reports to the local church-wide Church Conference called at least annually, and as otherwise needed, and open to all, with all FUMC members attending the meeting having a vote.
  • The “program” committees typically meet on second Mondays of each month and consist of Education, Evangelism, Mission, and Worship, except Youth Ministry Team which meets on first Mondays. Ministry Development Team meets on second Tuesdays of the even months.
  • The “administrative” committees typically meet on third Tuesdays of each month and consist of Trustees, Finance, and Staff Parish Relations.  
  • Major planning goals and assessments are done on an annual basis as part of the annual Charge Conference meeting.

 For more detail on these organized committees, please see the Committees page.


                          LOCATIONS & SERVICE TIMES
Downtown  2710 14th Street, Columbus, Nebraska  402-564-8463
     Sunday: 8:00 & 10:30 a.m.
     Sunday School: 9:00 a.m.  Fellowship Time: 10:00 - 10:30 a.m.
     Nursery available 9:00 - 11:30 a.m.
     Transportation available for Sunday 10:30 service. Call the church by Friday to schedule
Outreach Center  3602 16th Street, Columbus, Nebraska  402-564-8362
     Saturday Evening Service: 6:00 p.m.
     "Ignite On Sunday Night" Alternative Praise Gathering
      Casual Praise Worship: 6:00 p.m. followed by refreshments and fellowship
Office Hours:  Monday thru Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.