Columbus First United Methodist Church
Monday, March 30, 2020
Come grow with us!


The "Church Leadership" page indicates that the Church Council is assigned overall responsibility by and subject to the church membership meeting as a whole in a Church Conference. The Church Council in turn is made up of committee chairs and other leaders as follows:
Lay Leader ------------------------------------------------------------- TBD Lay Member to Annual Conference ----------------  Jane Galley  Lay Member to Annual Conference ---------------- Marilyn Zehring
Alternate to Annual Conference -------------------------------- TBD
Church Council Chair --------------------------------------Justin King
Board of Trustees Chair ----------------------------- Gordon Kosch
Staff-Parish Relations Chair ---------------------------- Tim Owens
Nominations & Lay Leadership ------------- Rev. Cindi Stewart*
Finance Chair -----------------------------------------------Chuck Keep
Education Chair ------------------------------------------- Peg Jeffres*
Evangelism Co-Chair ----------------------------------------------- Liz Lash
Evangelism Co-Chair ------------------------------------ Kara Asmus
Evangelism Co-Chair ----------------------------------- Betty Osborn
Missions Co-Chair ----------------------------------- Jane Schneider
Missions Co-Chair --------------------------------------- Cathy Davis*
Worship Chair --------------------------------------------- Sandy Fricke

UM Men President --------------------------------------- Bob Williams
GROW Men Leader ---------------------------------------- Rich Rohde
UM Women President ----------------------------------- Jackie Pope
Youth Ministry Team Leader --------------------- Multiple Leaders
Youth Representatives --------- UMYF - (youth attending YMT)
Memorial Chair ----------------------------------------- Gordon Vanek*
Endowment Fund Chair --------------------------------- Doug Olson
Outreach Center Operations Team Leader -------- Miki Naylor
Outreach Center Building & Grounds ----------- Gordon Kosch
Communications Team Leader -------------------- Doug Kallesen
Caring & Healthy Congregation Team Chair ----- Dee Kinkaid
Camping Team Leader ------------------------------- Doug Kallesen
Christian Social Witness Chair --------------------- Jamie Snyder
Recording Secretary to Church Council -- Bonnie Summers*
Church Treasurer ----------------------------------------- Chuck Oxley

Staff members of the Church Council:
Senior Pastor -------------------------------------------- Cindi Stewart*
Associate Pastor ------------------------------------------- Joe Krepel
Christian Education / Youth Director ---------- Sarah Borgman
Program Coordinator ----------------------------- Sandy Martensen
Business Coorinator ----------------------------------- Sharon Zobel
Receptionist / Front Desk ------------------------------ Lisa Nielsen
Parish Nurse ---------------------------------------- Martha Davidson*


* (at left) means pictured in the Church Council
Meeting photo of January 26, 2015

There are other permanent committees and ad hoc groups that are functioning, but are not represented on the Council:
Scrip Committee Chair ---------------------------------- Jeff Page
XYZ (Xtra Years of Zest) Contact ---------- Donna Klopnieski
Funeral Committee Chair -------------------- Dianna McElfresh
Archives Committee Chair ------------------- Martha Davidson
Quilters Group Contact -------------------------------- Lois Athey
Prayer Shawl Ministry Contact ---------------------- Deb Meek
Heart for Mission Contact
(sewing group) ------------------------------------- Donna Pearson
Connections Group Contact 
(women's lunch fellowship group) ---------- Marilyn Zehring
SPEED  (Leader) 
(Serving People Enthusiastically Every Day) ----- Andy Alt


The Bible stresses that we all have gifts (1 Corinthians 12:4-11). And further, that all gifts are needed for a well functioning church (1 Corinthians 12:12-31). Sometimes, God even wants us to grow in areas where we have secondary or third level gifts. 

We nearly always need more help on our committees, so we would encourage you to consider volunteering in an area of interest. And if it happens that you don't find what interests you, and you feel a call from God to initiate a new ministry, please contact Doug Kallesen of the Ministry Development Team, or one of the pastors with your idea.  The Team stands ready to help you.  Or you can suggest someone else for a committee or ministry. 

Please communicate your thoughts or questions by calling Rev. Cindi at 402-564-8463, or put your thoughts and questions in an email to her by clicking on the following link:
Come Grow With Us!


                          LOCATIONS & SERVICE TIMES
Downtown  2710 14th Street, Columbus, Nebraska  402-564-8463
     Sunday: 8:00 & 10:30 a.m.
     Sunday School: 9:00 a.m.  Fellowship Time: 10:00 - 10:30 a.m.
     Nursery available 9:00 - 11:30 a.m.
     Transportation available for Sunday 10:30 service. Call the church by Friday to schedule
Outreach Center  3602 16th Street, Columbus, Nebraska  402-564-8362
     Saturday Evening Service: 6:00 p.m.
     "Ignite On Sunday Night" Alternative Praise Gathering
      Casual Praise Worship: 6:00 p.m. followed by refreshments and fellowship
Office Hours:  Monday thru Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.